What’s the point?

Why should I care about working hard and doing my best?  What’s the point really?  Sometimes I’m so busy trying that I don’t ever stop and think about this simple yet complex question.  Some people do enough work to “just get by” an there are times that I’m jealous.  Do they enjoy life more because they aren’t stressing about the effort put into a project or striving for excellence?  What would it be like to not care so much about everything?  Then I wonder, what it would be like to simply not care about the outcome of anything I did.  If it works out, great.  If it doesn’t work out, no big deal.  I could just skate through life right?  Why is that not appealing?  Is it my Type A personality or a lifelong habit? 

Maybe I am more stressed than some people and maybe I don’t “enjoy” life as much as others but at least I care.  I care about doing a good job and realizing my potential.  I cared about getting good grades in school, working hard at swim practice, and simply doing the best I could with anything I did.  That was actually enjoyable.  The only problem was if I didn’t reach the goal I’d worked so hard for and there were times this happened.  Fortunately, through different experiences and watching how other people handled “failures” I realized that failing is simply part of life.  Failures help you correct mistakes and learn lessons.  Failures help make you a real person and appreciate the successes.  I still strive for excellence in everything I do but it’s no longer the end of the world if I fail. 

 How does this tie into working hard and caring about the quality of your work?  In the past, I pushed for success and felt like my efforts were futile if I came up short.  Now, I still push for success but enjoy the process more because I’m not afraid of failure.  Imagine how different your life would be if you refused to just put in enough to get by in life.  Imagine how different the world would be if we all tried that much harder.  I truly believe that one person can make a difference in the world.  It’s up to you to figure out what that difference is and to do more than you dream once you figure out that purpose.   There’s a book by  Dan Zadra called “One: How Many People Does It Take to Make a Difference?”.  It has great quotes, inspirational stories and even little sections for you to write your goals and priorities.  I found it at Starbucks but you can get it from Amazon as well.

Think about how you could really live out this quote, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” by Ghandi.  You don’t have to save a life, inspire millions, change a major policy, or be in charge of a volunteer organization.  Be kind, work hard, smile more, and find that small corner of the world that you feel compelled to improve.

This entry was posted in Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s the point?

  1. Tammy says:

    Love this! One person can make a difference in the world – when we all think that way!

Leave a Reply

