Friend appreciation

Friends truly make a difference in our lives.  When we experience difficult situations, friends are often there showing support and comforting us.  I remember a good friend of mine explaining what her friendships meant to her throughout one particularly hard time in her life.  She said that her friends’ support was also God’s way of showing his love and helping us through that struggle.  I love that and think about what she said whenever I feel a friend easing my pain by being present or an ear to listen. 

Of course, friendships aren’t important just for the bad times…they provide us with fun experiences, interesting conversations, and great memories that I consider the thread that holds the fabric of life together.   Sure we work, exercise, read, and “do” so many things in life but without the thread of friendship it doesn’t mean as much.  Ask yourself, what would still be enjoyable in your life if you couldn’t share your accomplishments and experiences with friends or loved ones? 

To all of my friends, thank you for everything.  Each person has helped shape who I am and how I see the world.  Thank you for the corny inside jokes and times where we have laughed so hard that we couldn’t stop laughing.  I appreciate all the times you listened to me cry.  Thank you for loving me when I wasn’t so lovable or believing in me when I didn’t believe in myself.  I hope I have been a true friend to as you’ve been to me. 

My mom shared one piece of advice passed on from her mother, “If you can count as many true friends in this world as you have fingers on your hand, then you are one of the luckiest people in the world.”  I am feeling pretty lucky…

This entry was posted in Thank yous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

