Love Letters: Random Cards of Kindness

One of my great desires in life is to make a positive difference in the world.  Kaitlyn Chana has been doing this since she was in 8th grade in 2005.

Recently, I read an article describing her organization, Love Letters: Random Cards of Kindness, and I was blown away by the fact that she was a few years younger than me and had already found a way to touch other people’s lives.   Through Love Letters Inc.,  volunteers create positive cards for sick children.  They have made close to 50,000 cards from all over the world for young boys and girls encouraging them through their hardships.  Love Letters isn’t going to cure any diseases or pay for hospital expenses, but I think it is a genius idea.  A lot of people don’t have hours to volunteer at a hospital, the desire to raise money for a charity walk, or even the money themselves to support a cause.  Anybody can find a piece of construction paper, markers, and some stickers to spend 10 minutes decorating a fun card that will put a smile on a child’s face.

I don’t know about you but I LOVED getting cards when I was younger.  In fact, I still have a shoe box dedicated to my cards.   I remember when I was eight years old, I moved from Georgia to Florida and my teacher had all my classmates write me a letter and to mail to my new address.  Throughout the rest of the school year, I would take out the big manila envelope and look at the letters  my old classmates had decorated with palm trees and Mickey Mouse.  It made me smile when I missed my friends from Georgia.

I really want to have a card making party now.  I am such a craft dork, but I want to support what Kaitlyn has done.  She may be younger than me but I look up to her and I hope I have the courage to start something like Love Letters Inc.    Makes me wonder what small way will I find to make a difference.  How will I fulfill that deep desire to light up a corner of this world that can seem so dark?

What about you?  If money and time were no object, how would you help people?

Check out Love Letters Inc.

Here are a few cards I found on her website.

This entry was posted in Thank yous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

