Shoe Shopping for a Career

Almost two years ago I remember being terrified that I didn’t have my career plan mapped out before me.  I faintly recall crying to somebody on the phone that I didn’t have any goals.  A little melodramatic but it was scary at the time.  The person on the other end of the phone told me it was okay to have those periods of time in your life.  Huh?  Seriously?  Since I respected this person and their accomplishments throughout life…I listened and couldn’t be more grateful.

These past two years I have considered a dozen careers, some more seriously than others.  This past Friday was an official first step down one of those pathways…nursing.  I picked up my student ID.  In a few weeks I will be a nursing student and onward I go marching down this path I’ve picked for my life.  I don’t anticipate to plan every detail of my career before I even enter school but I am exploring my options through research, discussions, and  “Shoe Shopping” as I like to put it.

“Shoe Shopping” is when you go into a store and try on a pair of shoes without fully committing to the purchase.  A pair of black high heels might look appealing on the shelf but they kind of pinch your toes or don’t quite look as good as you’d imagined.  How would you know without walking around?  Just because you took this pair off the shelf doesn’t mean you are obligated to buy them.  I really think some people pick their careers as if they had been window shopping and decided to buy something that looked nice on the rack without trying it on first.

Obviously I can’t try out being a nurse anesthetist or a nurse educator for a few days but I can talk to people, ask questions, and read about these options. I’ve picked my shoe store, now I just have to figure out which pair of shoes will fit me best for the next few years.  That’s kind of exciting…

I still don’t have my 5 year, 10 year, and 20 year plans yet, but my current goal is to develop and eventually refine those plans.

Where do you see yourself in a year?  What about 5 or 10 years?

This entry was posted in Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

