Finishing strong…

Race to the wall and finish strong.  These words were ingrained in my mind while swimming.  I remember one coach’s advice for the 200 IM, “Once you start swimming freestyle, whoever wants it the most will win the race.”  I would race my heart out on the last 50 yards to prove I wanted the win the most.

When I started triathlons this mindset was carried over to every workout  and race.  One time somebody questioned sprinting to the finish.  “You just completed an entire triathlon, why would you race to the finish?  Relish crossing the finish line.”

That goes against nature to me.  Finish strong in everything you do…enjoy all the hard work you’ve done later.

This entry was posted in Inspirations, Working out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

