New direction…

This blog has been on placed hold for a few months because I haven’t been sure what to do with it.  After reading blog after blog after blog (I’m addicted), I decided there needs to be a focus rather than haphazard posting whenever I feel “inspired”.

Which direction to take?  I have so many different interests and passions…I could make 10 different blogs for the sake of having a set focus.  That would be unrealistic obviously.  I’m combining what a neat blog, Twenty-Six to Life does with the idea of becoming a Renaissance woman.  Twenty-Six to Life is a blog devoted to completing 101 goals in 1001 days and a Renaissance man (woman) is a “a person whose expertise spans a significant number of different subject areas”.

I have so many goals for myself in a variety of different areas in life.  Some are short term while others are lifelong goals.  I posted on my goal book awhile back and haven’t worked too much on it since then.  My next post will outline my goals and I will write about my progress, accomplishments, and various things on motivation.  I hope to inspire others to work on achieving their own goals and believing in themselves to go after their passions in life.

What are some of your goals for this week?  This lifetime?  How do you plan on achieving them?

This entry was posted in Inspirations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New direction…

  1. Colleen says:

    I took a big step a few weeks ago and it’s starting to fall into place. I don’t want to say too much about it, though.

    Last week I decided to reassess how to get through my current stresses. I re-read The Four Agreements, and was given the companion book as a gift. I started a journal to answer all of the questions in the companion book, and it’s really helped. Kelly also lent me Orbiting the Giant Hairball which is excellent for dealing with a reactive and negative work environment.

    Tonight I spent a group run entirely by myself and had a while to think about running. I’ve been competitively running for 15 years, and never took a break longer than the three weeks I took this past November. All of my runs since that break were short and usually ended up with long walks. I’m trying to rediscover the joy of running, and I’ll be honest that it’s tough.

    As for the big step, it’s requiring a LOT of short and long-term goal setting. It’s a struggle, but I’m sure it’s worth it.

  2. Courtney says:

    Thanks for sharing Colleen! I read the Four-Agreements awhile back and thought it was really interesting…one of those books you need to re-read every so often. I’m curious about the companion book and Orbiting the Giant Hairball.

    Goals are so important for different reasons. They are as difficult and challenging as they are rewarding. That’s one way to know if the goal is worthwhile….it’s difficult.

    I’m really interesting to hear how your journey develops with various goals and with rediscovering running. It sounds familiar to my experience with swimming years ago. I ended up quitting because I stopped enjoying a sport that gave me so much joy for years. Fortunately triathlon helped me rediscover the fun in challenging yourself mentally and physically.

    Don’t know if you ever heard Coach Beth talk about goal setting before but she’s awesome. One quote she left me with was, “Always remember, the joy is in the process.” That has been my mantra for a few years now.

  3. Oh wow! Sorry it’s taken me forever to click over, but I’m glad I did! I think it’s a great idea to expand your blog and work towards new goals. I love the idea of a goal book. I think it’s easy to get bogged down by all the things we want to do and feel overwhelmed by it all. Having a list where you can check things off and see the progress you’ve made is invaluable. Good luck!

  4. Courtney says:

    It will be a work in progress trying to find the time to shape it into a online goal book. It’s been great reading yours and seeing that you are interested in so many different goals. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with finishing your list on time!

  5. Pingback: Goal list…a work in progress « Live your life with a passion beyond all reason

Leave a Reply

