“Failure to Plan”

Have you ever heard that a failure to plan is planning to fail?  That thought creeps into my mind whenever I end up cramming for an exam or stay up to the late hours of the night finishing a paper.  This happened a lot last week and I’ve been trying to figure out why.  Part of it couldn’t be helped because the semester is crazy with exams one on top of the other.  Then I think back on the hours I was simply lazy watching a movie or partaking in my new favorite procrastinating activity – making food and eating copious quantities of it.

A favorite snack – Vanilla yogurt, fresh fruit, and orange honey

I have a lot of goals for this semester…among them achieving straight A’s in school, sub 5:30 Half- Ironman (70.3), living on a real budget, finishing a t-shirt quilt, and outlining a book I want to write.  All of these are extremely different goals but they have one thing in common to complete successfully.  Planning and time management.  Tonight I’m going to divide up my free time for the week and dedicate specific hours to school and extracurricular interests.  Maybe if I’m feeling frisky I’ll actually get around to drafting up a training plan for the 70.3 in May.

One note, we can plan out every detail of our lives down to 15 minute increments but there comes a time when the plan needs to get thrown out the window.  After all, life is a balancing act.

P.S. Raced in my first Duathlon (5K run, 10 mile bike, 5K run) and won my new age group (25-29)!  My legs are hating me especially after racing a 10K yesterday but I remembered how much I LOVE to race.

This entry was posted in Goals, Racing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Failure to Plan”

  1. Natalie says:

    Congrats on your Duathlon win! That’s quite an accomplishment and I’ll bet your new age group is competitive 🙂

  2. Courtney says:

    Thanks! It should be fun moving into the next bracket. The women just seem to get tougher and faster with experience.

Leave a Reply

