Oldsmar Taphouse 5K + Das Boot = Fun

What a whirlwind of a weekend!  5Ks, post-race parties, graduation parties, house warming parties, triathlons and more post-race parties, and…oh yeah a research paper critique due at midnight on Sunday. At least I have my priorities straight, right?

Starting off with the Oldsmar Taphouse 5K.  It was excessively humid; I was drenched glistening with sweat after my 10 minute warm-up.  Despite the heat, I had a lot of fun during the race and even more fun after the race.  It’s a must-do in the Tampa area for any “drinker out there with a running problem”.  Meghann gives a great race recap with awesome pictures.  I usually fail at this…so check out her “view” of the race :).

The start line was really crowded and since we weren’t using chips I stayed only a few rows from the front.  The atmosphere tingled with people who were there to have a good time.  Everybody was standing around chatting and laughing, as if they weren’t about to race in 2 minutes.

With my renewed determination I took off on the first mile and let my legs take me through the first mile.  Bad decision…I am not trained to go the first mile in 6:33.  I tried to slow down even though my lungs and muscles weren’t burning at this point.  Right after the turnaround I saw Meghann with a big smile on her face and her hand already out for a high five.  There’s nothing better than seeing a familiar face on the race course.

The next mile was better at 7:00 min.  By that point I was settled into a steady pace and ready to finish the race.  The humidity was starting to infiltrate my entire body.  Have you ever had your cheeks burn and ears ring slightly while running?  It happens to me when I’m getting really hot.   As this was happening and I wanted to back off because this was supposed to be a fun race, I heard a woman’s breathing behind me.  She was getting closer and wanted to pass me.  Darn it.

I wasn’t going to just let her pass me, so I picked up pace and stayed strong.  She was 5 steps behind me for half a mile and finally ran beside me for another quarter or a mile.  I silently cursed my competitive nature and managed to come in 5 seconds behind her with a 22:05 as the 15th overall female.  I thanked her for pushing me after we finished and and congratulated her on a solid race.

So the great thing about this race is the free beer afterwards.  And if you are in the Top 50 women or men, you get the Das Boot.  I promptly got my boot filled up and headed straight for the sausages, sauerkraut, and potato salad.  One woman commented,”How can you eat all of that right now?”  My reply, “I was blessed with a stomach of steal and a healthy appetite.”

Enjoying Sierra Nevada Pale Ale in my "Das Boot"

After that I went to cheer on friends, listen to the live band, and enjoy all the other food tents.  I quickly learned that when drinking out of this oddly shaped boot, you must hold it at the right angle otherwise you get splashed in the face.  Good thing I was already sweaty so it didn’t matter.

This was a lot of fun and I look forward to coming out again next year.  Next up, I’ll talk about my second race experience for the weekend 🙂

How was your weekend?  Did you do anything fun or have any races?

This entry was posted in Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oldsmar Taphouse 5K + Das Boot = Fun

  1. Meghann says:

    Woo hoo! That race was HOT and you rocked it! 🙂

  2. Congrats on a solid finish- top 15 in summer heat and humidity is super impressive! And I totally want “das boot”–hmmm, may have to find an excuse to come to FL next year 🙂

  3. Courtney says:

    Thanks! You should think about it! There are also a lot of other things to do to justify your trip for the “das boot”. haha

Leave a Reply

