Back to the real world

I didn’t realize how long it would take to feel like I was truly back to my routine.  Jet lag was this phrase I kept hearing people use and never understood until last week.  After the race on Saturday, we left to go to Hong Kong for a few days (which was incredible) and then got back late last Wednesday night.  This meant my body was still on China time and I got maybe 2-3 hours of sleep and felt awful on Thursday.  Basically it felt like I was pulling an all nighter even though it was only 3 PM.  Fortunately, this feeling only lasted until Friday and my body was back on East Coast time but my head was still back in China.  Sorry about the blogging hiatus.  😦  I had a test this past Wednesday and wouldn’t let myself blog until afterwards since I was really behind in school.

I have a few posts that will be going up to recap the rest of my trip.  There are links to all the pictures at the bottom this post and here are a few of my favorites from the trip.

I’m still so grateful for the opportnity for the cultural and racing experience.  Both were equally incredible.  It’s hard to imagine learning as much as I did about history, customs, and triathlon in 10 days.

I really appreciate all the comments and support over the past few weeks.  Every “Good luck” and “Congrats” meant a lot.  This is one of the reasons I love the blogging community…the support.  I genuinely love reading other people’s race reports and training journeys.  I love learning about tricks other people figured out along the way and reading that people struggle just as much as I do with various obstacles.

Here are a few links to my pictures from the trip. There are well over a 1,000 🙂 I’m usually really bad about taking pictures but it was hard not to take pictures because everything was so amazing.  I narrowed my favorites to about 150 if you’d rather look at the “Best of China” album.

Arrival to Beijing and first day exploring Tiananmen Square, Jingshan Park, and Bei Hai Park.

Beijing Day 1-2

Tour of Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Hutong neighborhood, Temple of Heaven, Great Wall, and Ming Tombs

Beijing Day 3-4

Course familiarization, Parade of Nations, Opening Ceremony, and Race Day

Beijing Day 5-6

Hong Kong – Hong Kong Park, Stanley Market, Lantao Island (Big Buddha), Peak Tram, Night Market, Mid-Autumn festival, etc.

Hong Kong Day 7-10

This entry was posted in Life, Thank yous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to the real world

  1. Feerlessfood says:

    Hong Kong? Sweet!

    So you guys went with the one-piece suits? Did anyone use the 2 piece? That’s what I was going to go with because I like it better, but did everyone use one piece or did some go with 2 piece?

    You, Alvaro, and I should grab or cook dinner or something so you can fill me on all the ITU worlds logistics so I can plan my trip and be ready!

    Congrats again Courtney!

  2. Amy says:

    Loved reading your race recap-awesome stuff. No, you are not alone-i didn’t know about those negative forums either until yesterday…very sad. I didn’t know there was such a dark side to blogging 😦

    • TriCourt says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the race recap! I was letting that dark side of blogging cloud my perspective on it but finally came to the conclusion that the majority of the community is positive amd supportive.

  3. I hope you took about 800 pictures of yourself in that Team USA suit. That must have been so cool to put that on race day.

Leave a Reply

