Updates and Upcoming Events

Hello hello! Since my last post I have made the switch over the night walkers. This switch to working 7:00 pm – 7:30 am had me nervous. People told horror stories of getting nauseous at 4:00 am or falling asleep while driving. For somebody that is perfectly content falling asleep at 10:00 pm on a Friday night and getting 8-10 hours of sleep, I was apprehensive but determined to give it a try.

Night shift

 

Well it’s been a few weeks now and I am loving night shift. Two main reasons: I have more time to workout since I’m sleeping less (mostly 6-7 hours during the days I work) and more importantly, there’s more time for quality care for my patients. Day shift is hectic! Phones ring off the hook, doctors write new orders, families visit, and you basically never seem to have a minute to breathe. Seasoned nurses have their routine down pat and work more efficiently but as a new nurse I like having the time to do a thorough assessment, plan my shift, and really dig into the patient’s chart.  Surprisingly, my body has adapted beyond expectations. It sleeps when I go to bed. No black out curtains, ear plugs, or sleep aids needed. I’m still playing with just how much sleep is healthy for my body and I’ll post about it once I establish a true routine.

There are times when my body is physically exhausted. I’ve been affectionately been referring to it as “the fog” because that’s the best description. Nothing a good nap can’t cure. One downside is my workouts, when I have back-to-back shifts, are limited to 8:30 am – 5:30 pm which means Florida heat and humidity are unavoidable. No real complaints here, however, because it beats not working out altogether. I’m excited regardless and realize that no schedule is perfect for training. We all do what we can do.

Here’s a quick update on my race calendar:

5-26/12 – Crystal River Sprint (1/4 mile swim, 15 mile bike, 5K run) <—tomorrow!

6/10/12 – Dunedin Sprint,  (1/4 mile swim, 12 mile bike, 5K run)

7/28/12 – Top Gun Sprint (1/4 mile swim, 10 mile bike, 5K run)

8/18/12 – Age Group Nationals Olympic Distance (1500 meter swim, 40K bike, 10K run)

9/15-9/16/12 – Napa Ragnar Relay

10/28/12 – Marine Corps Marathon

11/3/12 – Volunteering as nurse in Medic Tent at Florida IM – registering for my first full IM for 2013. It’s time to commit to true triathlon endurance!

It should be an interesting race season. I’m sure there will be one or two other races thrown in as they come up but this is what I’m currently signed up for and that keeps me busy once every month. 2013 is shaping up to be an endurance year since I’ll start officially training for an Ironman. This has been a few years coming but ultimately I didn’t want to race that distance on immature or lackluster training. When did you first commit to an Ironman and what ultimately pushed you to sign up? If you’ve never raced that distance, are you curious or think it’s just plain crazy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Updates and Upcoming Events

  1. Woo-hoo MCM! I’m impressed with how many sprints you are doing, those things HURT. Gutsy stuff.

    • TriCourt says:

      I love sprints. They hurt but in a good way. I’m really excited about MCM….if only I didn’t have to start training so early in Florida heat!

  2. Amy says:

    Signing up for your first full? How exciting!

  3. Melissa says:

    I watched a video about athletes from IMTX this year, and it got me really itching to do one. Sign up for hasn’t started yet, but when it does I think I’m going to go for it. Eek!

Leave a Reply

