And my body goes “Like Whoa”

Whoa. What is this feeling? Soreness? Exhaustion? Generalized muscle fatigue? My body only vaguely remembers being pushed this hard.

Saturday my group did a ride a little too late for me to get back in time for a nap before my 12 hour night shift. So instead, I slept in (for me) And hopped on the trainer for 1.5 hours. I’m not a lover of trainers. They just don’t motivate me. No way around using one this year. Anybody have any tips?

Sunday kicked my butt. The plan was to bike 30K out and then Time Trial 30k back in a draft line. Afterwards we had a 4K run. Now usually I prefer miles, mostly because that’s what I’m used to, but Felipe creates the workouts and so kilometers it is.

Majority of our rides take place near Alafia because there are a lot of open roads with minimal traffic. Only complaint is the wind. It’s a four letter word to me. Wind switches directions so you don’t seem to get the same return as hills. Although I do love those nice and rare stretches of a tail wind. Who doesn’t? Cozumel is going to be flat and windy which makes Alafia the perfect training spot.

First half of the ride was steady and somewhat enjoyable. The second half hurt. Really hurt. The wind gusted and just didn’t seem to stop. I only remember one or two spots with a tail wind. The last 10K I struggled mentally. My quads and hamstrings burned in protest. “Dig deeper” became my mantra towards the end. Our usual route takes us up a stretch with a steady incline with about 5K to go. I’m not as familiar with the routes so I was preparing for that hill knowing I’d get dropped. It didn’t happen…we took a back way fortunately. The last mile I mustered some type of willpower to hold onto Steph’s back wheel.

First brick of the season. I had no clue what to expect. My goal pace was about 5:00 min/km but the ladies all started in a pack but after the first kilometer we settled into our own pace and I focused on having a straight back and good form. Each kilometer was more difficult than the last. My pace reflected this struggle, with maybe 3-5 sec each km. Overall I was happy with staying under my goal with a 4:45 min/km average but need to improve with consistency. Phew. Done. I was EXHAUSTED. Especially since I worked those 12 hours Saturday night and took only a few hour nap before the ride.

Thanks to another shift Monday night I had to move my evening long run to the following morning. Knowing I had a busy day working both of my jobs there really wasn’t another option than 6 am. Woo hoo. This might be the norm for most people but waking up before 6 am and working a night shift means being up for more than 24 hours with a 1-2 hour nap in the middle. Does it make sense why I took a serious training/racing hiatus?

The run tested me. Easy enough pace around 5:30 min/km for the 50 min with a friend. The last 25 min I was ok my own and the excuses to stop early started to pile up. Nobody would know. I would. Does it really matter this early on? Yes it does. You’ve already had a good run and it’s going to be a long day. Dig deeper. My body was spent but I was proud of finishing. No short cuts this season. No slacking. I have a choice to do the training the right way or not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And my body goes “Like Whoa”

  1. Victoria says:

    Your dedication to getting in your training is impressive – great work!

    I love using TrainerRoad to make long trainer sessions more fun and productive. Give it a try.

    • TriCourt says:

      I’ll have to give that a try. Thanks for the suggestion. Hoping the dedication continues! Any chance you are in Florida in the near future?

      • Victoria says:

        I will actually be there in…5 days! But the other side of the state, in Palm Beach.

      • TriCourt says:

        That’s too bad! Bet you’ll like the reprieve from the cold weather. I just bought the “It Starts with Food” book. Going to read and try to eat what I already have on hand before trying the Whole 30 out.

  2. Melissa says:

    I have TV shows that I save for the trainer. I don’t let myself watch them unless I’m sweating away on the bike, so it at least gives me something to look forward to!

    Good luck with your training! That schedule sounds crazy, but kudos to you for getting it done 🙂

    • TriCourt says:

      That’s probably what I’ll have to do. I can binge on some Netflix. Just started Call of the Midwife recommended by a friend.

      My schedule sucks. No way around that right now. I try to be protective of my sleep when I can. Strict bedtime for me tonight!

Leave a Reply

